Published on Thursday October 25, 2018 at 17:11

Voltaire's Chateau

chateau-de-voltaire-coup-de-coeur-pays-de-gex-1355

Discover or rediscover the Voltaire's Chateau !

After 2 years and a half of works, Voltaire's Chateau reopens its doors to the public on June 1st. Thanks to a indoor and outdoor complete renovation, led by the National Monuments Center (CMN), you will have the opportunity to discover a brand new monument and beautiful enriched collections. Get ready to understand the reasoning of this illustrious philosopher who was Voltaire.

A little about history ...

Voltaire acquires the Chateau in 1759, lived there for about twenty years and wrote many books including the famous Philosophical Dictionary in his living room. He made the Ferney seigneury, which was a "miserable hamlet" of 200 souls, a prosperous village of 1200 inhabitants.
chateau-de-voltaire-1365

Enter to the Chateau life !

You will live an unforgettable experience with a new tour that takes place in 4 stages:
  • The arrival of Voltaire at Ferney.
  • The pilgrimage to Ferney after the death of Voltaire.
  • Madame Denis' world
  • The room of Madame Denis' maids.

Beyond discovering a house full of history and a real place of memory. You will have access to the garden of more than 7 hectares, a real greenery in the heart of a dynamic city. A real breath of fresh air ! A revitalizing walk awaits you, but not only ! You will be contemplating a breathtaking view on the Mont Blanc that inspired our famous writer !
I beg it will stay in your mind forever.
More

Publié le jeudi 25 octobre 2018 à 17h11

Château de Voltaire

chateau-de-voltaire-coup-de-coeur-pays-de-gex-1355

Découvrez ou redécouvrez le château de Voltaire !

Après 2 ans et demi de travaux, le château de Voltaire a réouvert ses portes au public le 1er juin dernier.  Grâce à une rénovation complète, intérieure et extérieure menée par le Centre des Monuments nationaux (CMN), vous aurez l’opportunité de découvrir un monument flambant neuf et de très belles collections qui vous permettront de plonger dans l’esprit de cet illustre philosophe qu’était Voltaire.
 

Un brin d’histoire …

Voltaire a acquis le château en 1759, y a vécu durant une vingtaine d’année, et écrivit de nombreux ouvrages dont le fameux Dictionnaire philosophique, que vous ne pouvez que connaitre. Il fit de la Seigneurie de Ferney, qui était alors «un hameau misérable» de 200 âmes, un village prospère de 1200 habitants.
 

chateau-de-voltaire-1365

A vous la vie de château !

Vous allez vivre une expérience inoubliable avec un nouveau parcours de visite qui se déroule en 4 temps :
  • L’arrivée de Voltaire à Ferney.
  • Le pèlerinage à Ferney après la mort de Voltaire.
  • L’univers de Madame Denis
  • La chambre des servantes de Madame Denis.

Au-delà de découvrir une demeure remplie d’histoire et un véritable lieu de mémoire, vous aurez accès au parc de plus de 7 hectares, un véritable écrin de verdure en plein cœur d’une ville dynamique ! Un vrai bol d’air frais ! Une balade ressourçante vous attend donc mais pas que ! Puisque vous pourrez contempler une vue imprenable sur le Mont Blanc, vue magnifique qui devait inspirer notre célèbre écrivain ! Vous ne voudrez plus repartir !
En savoir plus